The Mudcat Café TM
Thread #168014   Message #4195837
Posted By: Joe Offer
20-Jan-24 - 12:19 AM
Thread Name: Mudcat Worldwide Singaround-On Zoom NOW!!
Subject: RE: Mudcat Worldwide Singaround-On Zoom Mondays!!
Hi, Everybody - I hope you can sing with us on Zoom on Monday every week. Singing starts at noon Los Angeles time, which is 3 PM in New York and 8 PM in London. We sing for 4-5 hours, and always have a good time.

There's been a little discussion lately about our policy on between-song conversation and length of performances, and the like. Different singarounds do things differently. We like to emphasize music and not conversation, and we like to keep the session moving along. We have 25-35 singers every week, and the session can get tedious if there's too much conversation. So please help to keep the session moving along - without being rushed. In general, each person's turn is one song or recitation, plus a brief introduction - limited to five minutes but hopefully shorter. But if a ballad or recitation goes a minute or two overtime, I don't think everybody's going to mind.

And sorry, but we really don't want participants giving technical instructions to participants. That's what we have cohosts for.
I don't want to get all rulesy about this, but the idea is that we want to keep the session moving along and not get bogged down by conversation. Thanks.

-Joe-